Missing Links and Missing Horses

I recently saw the feature film “Alice in Wonderland” directed by Tim Burton (I liked it) and was reminded of something I have often thought about the Bureau of Land Management’s Wild Horse and Burro Program, or as Alice says

It would be so nice if something made sense for a change.

The Bureau of Land Management’s website includes a page that refers to an “Instruction Memorandum” dated April 9, 2009.  The Memorandum is addressed as follows:

To:                   State Directors

From:              Assistant Director, Fire and Aviation

Subject:           Bureau of Land Management (BLM) Manual 9400, Aviation Management and BLM Wild Horse and Burro Aviation Management Handbook – 2009 Revision

The Memorandum provides contact information,

Contact: If you have any questions or concerns regarding this policy, please address them to Brad Gibbs at 208-387-5182 or email brad_gibbs@nifc.blm.gov.

and states

Primary distribution of these documents is electronic.

The Memorandum also appears to provide links to the WH & B Aviation Handbook:

An electronic version of BLM Wild Horse and Burro Aviation Management Handbook – 2009 Revision is available at:

http://web.blm.gov/internal/wo-500/directives/dir-hdbk/h4740-1.pdf

Both documents can also be accessed at: http://aviation.blm.gov.

Despite the representation, an “electronic version of BLM Wild Horse and Burro Aviation Management Handbook” is not “available” at the link to “4740-1” because the link is not active and has never been active as far as I can tell.  The document also can not be “accessed” at the “Aviation” web page because the link there is also not active (and never has been).   UPDATE:  An active link to the 2009 Revision to the BLM’s “Wild Horse and Burro Program, Aviation Management Handbook, H-4740-1,” may be accessed at the BLM webpage here.

Wild horse and burro advocate Sandra Longley recently obtained the WH & B Aviation Management Handbook as an email attachment from the BLM.  The Handbook sent to Sandra has been posted at the “Mustang Project” blog and is sometimes accessible via an active link there (although the link sometimes shows as an “error,” possibly due to some glitch in the way the BLM saved the Handbook electronically).

Here is the link to H-4740-1 January 2009 at the Mustang Project blog.  If you cannot access the link, please post a comment here with your email address and I will send you a copy.

Many thanks to Sandra Longley and “T” (Mustang Project blog) for this information.

From the BLM, unfortunately, we get more of this:

Let me see: four times five is twelve, and four times six is thirteen, and four times seven is — oh dear! I shall never get to twenty at that rate!

How many horses and burros are on the range?  How many are in captivity (or holding if you prefer)?  How many geldings?  How many mares?  Where precisely are they?

Let me see:  15,206 geldings in Oklahoma (or is it 4,716)?  7, 321 mares in Kansas (or is that Iowa?).  Five equids in “maintenance” in Challis, Idaho (Five?).  16 in Delta, Utah.  30,000 or 40,000 or 27,000 in long-term holding.  No, I mean on refuges.  No, I mean in long-term holding pastures.  No, I mean located on private land sanctuaries that are open to the public.  No, I mean held on large ranches that are private and cannot be viewed.

If I had a world of my own, everything would be nonsense. Nothing would be what it is, because everything would be what it isn’t. And contrary wise, what is, it wouldn’t be. And what it wouldn’t be, it would. You see?

Comments
4 Responses to “Missing Links and Missing Horses”
  1. sandra longley says:

    Hey isn’t that interesting..This is one of the many questions I put to Dr. Kane in Colo. springs last friday when he returned my call, where are the horses in longterm holding, is there a web page where information about them can be viewed, do we know how many have died there, do i have to spend my money to fly out there to see for myself? The answer….”We are working on that” I hope he meant he was working on getting me a ticket….

  2. Christie says:

    Great article. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Leslie Peeples says:

    Hello, great post, I could not get any of the links to work either, not even the Mustang Project link and I really need that handbook, ASAP. Could you email it to me? I am a friend of Sandra’s, thanks Leslie.

  4. theandbetween says:

    Leslie, Thanks for your comment. I took another look at the BLM’s links and the one to the Aviation Management Handbook is functioning. I edited my post to reflect the change, and added the link. Let me know if you cannot get there from here.

Leave a Reply

